Click me

Understanding the Stages of Grief

UNDERSTANDING the Stages of briet The S Stages of Grief 1. Denial • Protects you from overwhelming emotions • May feel like a numbness or isolation from reality • Should not be confused with a lack of caring · Anger may be directed at the deceased, friends, family, or health professionals • Anger at the deceased for dying can make you feel guilty and, in turn, angrier • Take your time in this stage and understand your options llargaining Can occur before or after losing a loved one Involves thinking about what could have been done differently to prevent the loss • Unresolved issues in this stage can lead to intense emorse or guilt 4.Depression You may experience deep grief and sadness beyond what you imagined • This stage can feel like it will last forever or like there is no point in going on • This stage is natural and not something that you should "snap out of" 5. Rceptance • Comes with accepting the fact that your loved one is gone forever • Does not mean that you are all right with the reality, just that you've accepted it • Happens a little bit at a time, as grief is a long process Tips for Coping with the Loss of a Loved One Embrace and face your grief rather than trying to ignore it Look to friends and family members for support Seek the help of a therapist or grief counselor Join a support group and share your story with others Write in a journal to express your feelings Let yourself feel all of your emotions, whatever they may be provided by ISt. Louis CREMATION SOUrces:

Understanding the Stages of Grief

shared by BrittSE on Feb 12
Acceptance is the final stage of grief. It does not mean that one is okay with losing a loved one, only that they have accepted it. Learn more about the different stages of grief in this infographic.


Did you work on this visual? Claim credit!

Get a Quote

Embed Code

For hosted site:

Click the code to copy


Click the code to copy
Customize size