Click me
Transcript

DUI vs. DWI: What is the Difference for an Arrest in Maryland?

DUI vs. DWI: What is the Difference for an Arrest in Maryland? Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Driving While Impaired (DWI) More than 6,600 impaired About half of those drivers are involved in fatal accidents every accidents are caused year, resulting in an average of 10,000 deaths by drivers with blood alcohol levels at or below 0.16% Over 22,000 DUI arrests were made in Maryland in 2011 That's an average of 60 arrests each day مں مي مر on مر مر مر مر مں مر من مر 21% of young drivers involved in a fatal accident have some alcohol in their system Higher percentage than in other age groups What Is DUI? Stands for Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol If a driver submits to a breath test or has blood drawn to test for the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), Maryland law presumes that the driver is intoxicated and unable to drive safely when a The most serious BAC of 0.08% or above alcohol-related is detected within two hours of driving infraction in Maryland The penalties for DUI include: 12 points against your driving record $1,000 fine for a 1st offense $2,000 fine for a 2nd offense Automatic revocation of your license for 6 months Up to 1 year in jail for a 1st offense Mandatory 5 days up to 2 years in jail for a 2nd offense What Is DWI? Stands for Driving While Impaired Considered to be a less serious offense with lower maximum potential jail time, lower fines, and lower points to be assessed by the Maryland Motor Vehicles Administration (MVA) Impairment doesn't apply only to alcohol Can include drugs and/or alcohol You can still be charged with DWI even if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is below 0.08%-the legal limit for intoxication per se The charge is based partially on the officer's judgment of whether you can drive safely or whether your ordinary judgment is impaired to some degree The reduced penalties for DWI include: 8 points against your driving record $500 fine for 1st and 2nd offenses 60-day license revocation for 1st offense Up to 60 days in jail for a 1st offense Up to a year in jail Up to 120-day license revocation for 2nd offense for a 2nd offense Provided by: The Law Office of Michael S. Rothman www.mikerothman.com Sources: http://mhso.mva.maryland.gov/SafetyPrograms/program_im- paired_driving_prevention.htm http://www.dmv.org/md-maryland/automotive-law/dui.php http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2013/05/27/- science/drunk-driving-2011.html?ref=science

DUI vs. DWI: What is the Difference for an Arrest in Maryland?

shared by BrittSE on Nov 16
233 views
0 shares
0 comments
What penalties can drivers face from a DUI in Maryland? Drivers might receive 12 points against their driving record, automatic revocation of their licenses for 6 months, or a $1,000 fine for a 1st of...

Category

Other
Did you work on this visual? Claim credit!

Get a Quote

Embed Code

For hosted site:

Click the code to copy

For wordpress.com:

Click the code to copy
Customize size