Click me

A Nursing Specialties

A GUIDE TO NURSING SPECIALTIES It takes a special person to choose to become a nurse. Nurses are caring and dedicated people who take care of patients in many different ways. Those who select this field as a potential career have a plethora of opportunities available to them. In fact, there are more than 20 different types of specialties that a nurse can choose from. Take a look at some of the most popular ones. Critical Care Nursing Gerontology Nursing A Gerontology Nurse takes care of elderly patients. Critical Care Nurses deal with patients suffering from life-threatening illnesses. The following certification is recommended: This certified nurse is responsible for making sure that acutely and critically ill patients are given the best care. Registered Nurse Certified (RN-BC) As a Critical Care Nurse, you can pursue the following certifications: Home Health Nursing * Certified Critical Care Nurse (CCRN) * Cardiovascular Nurse (RN-BC) * Cardiac Surgery Subspecialty Cert. (CSC) * Cardiac Medicine Subspecialty Cert. (CMC) * Progressive Care Nursing Cert. (PCCN) Hospice Nursing A Home Health Nurse cares for patients who are chronically ill or have acute illnesses and are homebound. The nurses perform a variety of tasks: O Collecting lab specimens Changing dressings Being a Hospice Nurse is different than the other specialties, as this type of nurse knows that the patient will not recover. Administering chemotherapeutic agents Interacting with family members A Hospice Nurse performs the typical nursing duties, but her or she must also provide emotional support. A Home Health Nurse may earn the following certifications: Home Health Nurse Certification (HHNC) Instead of treating the patient, the Hospice Nurse's main goal is to minimize the pain of the patient during the time he or she has left. Infusion Nursing A Hospice Nurse also can earn the following certification: R Certified Hospice and Palliative (CHPN) Medical-Surgical Nursing This is also called Intravenous Nursing and entails caring for patients by administering fluids, medications or blood through injections. They must monitor the patient and make sure their tubing and bandages are properly maintained. It is recommended you receive one of the following certifications: Medical-Surgical Nurses provide care for adult patients either before or after a surgical procedure. * Vascular Access-Board Certified (VA-BC) * Certified Registered Nurse Infusion (CRNI) They also care for patients being treated with medications to manage their illnesses. Perioperative Nursing A Medical-Surgical Nurse typically has earned one or both of the following certifications: R Registered Nurse Board-Certified (RN-BC) R Certified Medical-Surgical RN (CMSRN) A Perioperative Nurse is also referred to as an Operating Room (OR) Nurse. Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing The nurses work in the preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative phases of surgery. They assist health care professionals in implementing, planning, and evaluating treatment. This type of nurse cares for patients of all ages who suffer from mental illness or mental distress. A Perioperative Nurse is an RN who has at least one of the following certifications: * Certified Nurse Operating Room (CNOR) * Certified Post Anesthesia Nurse (CPAN) : Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant (CRNFA) Certified Ambulatory Perianesthesia Nurse (CAPA) This specialty requires additional training in areas such as psychological therapies and how to build an alliance. To become a Psychiatric and Mental Health Nurse, you must be an RN and earn the following certification:" * Certified Rehabilitation Registered Nurse (CRRN) Wound, Ostomy, Continence Nursing Rehabilitation Nursing This nursing specialty provides treatment for O patients suffering from acute or chronic wounds and patients with bowel or bladder diversions. A Rehabilitation Nurse helps patients by providing physical and emotional support to them and their families. They are often referred to as WOCNS. As a Wound, Ostomy, Continence Nurse, you should have one of the following certifications: These nurses provide care for patients with illnesses or disabilities that don't allow them to function normally and interfere with their lifestyles. Certified Wound, Ostomy, Continence Nurse (CWOCN) Certified Wound Ostomy Nurse (CWON) * Certified Wound Care Nurse (CWCN) * Certified Ostomy Care Nurse (COCN) * Certified Continence Care Nurse (CCCN) * Certified Foot Care Nurse (CFCN) To become a Rehabilitation Nurse, you should have the following certification: * Certified Rehabilitation Registered Nurse (CRRN) Sources:,_ostomy,_and_continence_nursing *Colorado Technical University only offers an associate in nursing and does not offer degrees, certifications or any form of program in any of the above specialties. September 2011

A Nursing Specialties

shared by rmmojado on Jan 24
It takes a special person to choose to become a nurse. Nurses are caring and deidated people who take care of patients in many different ways.Here is a quick view on the various nursing specialties an...




Unknown. Add a source


Did you work on this visual? Claim credit!

Get a Quote

Embed Code

For hosted site:

Click the code to copy


Click the code to copy
Customize size