Click me

Raag Rang

राग स्वर The colours of Indian classical music Music of India is said to be one of Naad: Cosmic vibrations. All Swar: Those shrutis which can easily be recongnised and reproduced. They form the building blocks of music. There are 7 natural swars ( a) सा रे ग म प ध नि, their altered flats नाद naads are said to originate from the Bramha naad or Om (3). the oldest unbroken musical traditions in the world. This infographic sums up the tight connection between Indian classical music and the cycle श्रुति of days, seasons and moods. It also (कोमल स्वर) रे ग ध नि and sharps (तीव्र Far) , adding to a total of 12. Each Shruti: Those naads which we can clearly hear and distinguish. reveals its link with animals, planets and colours; associations which There are 22 shrutis. swar has its own personality, determined by its colour, mood, age and origin. have been codified in ancient times. पूर्वाग Poorvang उत्तरांग Uttarang १२ १२ १२ These swars dominate the 2nd half of the day. These swars dominate the 1st half of the day. noon midnight noon न सा This dot represents the higher octave (तार संप्तक), Similarly, the lower octave (मंद्र सप्तक) is represented by a dot below the swar. The swar resembles the voice of a man this old (in years). 70 60 50 40 30 20 10 240 300 337.5 360 405 450 480 Vibrations per second. do re me fa so la ti Equivalent in Western solfège. गंधार Gandhar or 'Ga धेवत Dhaivat or 'Dha' निषाद Nishad or 'Ni' is SG Shadaj or 'Sa' is the sound of a peacock. It symbolises the ocean and is dominated by Mer- ऋषभ Rishabh or 'Re' is the sound of a skylark. It symbolises valour and is dominated by Mars is the sound of a goat. It symbolises the sky and is dominated by the Sun मध्यम Madhyam or 'Ma' is the sound of a crane. It means 'middle' and is पंचम Pancham or 'Pa' is the sound of a cuckoo. It means 'fifth' and is dominated by Saturn and is the sound of a snake. It symbolises the Earth the sound of an elephant. It symbolises a hunter and is dominated by Venus dominated by the Moon and is dominated by Jupi- cury and the colour green and the colour red. and the colour golden. and the colour white. the colour blue. ter and the colour yellow. and is multi-coloured. --------------------- ----------------- Raag: A musical composition built from 5 to 7 swars. राग O Pratyush Gupta There are more than a thousand raags, each derived from the 10 thaats. Raags are associated with different times of the day depending upon the moods that specific notes or combinations evoke. It is believed that only during this period the raag appears to be at the height of its melodic beauty and majestic splendor. A few popular raags with their time periods are listed below. दुर्गा Durga खमाज Khamaj तिलक कामोद नट बिहाग Nat Bihag Tilak Kamod काफ़ी देस हम्सध्वनि Kafi दरबारी कानडा बागेश्री Bageshri Des Hamsdhwani Darbari Kanada मल्हार Malhar यमन अडाना Yaman रात्रि night Adana भूपाली Bhupali मालकौन्स 7 PM 4 AM Malkauns केदार संध्या evening Kedar थाट मारवा Marwa भटयार Thaat: Parent scales containing 7 swars, from which all the raags are born. The 10 basic thaats form the basis for orgainisation of the raags in North Indian classical music. Each thaat is also a raag. It is associated with a particular time of the day, as are the raags under it. पूर्या Роoгya Bhatiyar भकार जेत Bhankar Jait गौरी सा रे ग में मारवा सा रे ग म बिलावल सा रे ग म काफ़ी ललित Gauri प ध नि सा प ध नि सा प ध नि सा Marwa Bilawal Kafi Lalit भैरव पूर्वी Poorvi Bhairav सा रे ग म भैरव प ध नि सा सा रे ग म खुमाज प ध नि सी Khamaj सा रे गु म आसावरी प ध नि सा कलिंगड़ा Kalingada श्री Bhairav Asavari Shri पूर्या धनाश्री Poorya Dhanashri सा रे ग में पूर्वी Poorvi सा रे ग म भैरवी प धु नि सा गुणकली Gunkali सा रे ग में कल्याण प ध नि सा प ध नि सा Kalyan Bhairavi दीपक Deepak रामकली Ramkali सा रे ग में तोड़ी प ध नि सा Todi दोपहर afternoon पीलू Peelu बिलावल Bilawal प्रातः morning 7 AM बृंदावनी सारंग Brindavani Sarang 4 PM देशकार Deshkar भीमपलासी आसावरी 3 हिन्डोल Hindol देवगिरी Devgiri Bheempalasi Asayari जौनपुरी Jaunpuri भैरवी तोड़ी मुद्राकी Mudraki Bhairavi Todi देसी बिलास्खानी तोड़ी बहादुरी तोड़ी Bahaduri Todi Desi Bilaskhani Todi धनाश्री लीलावती Dhanashri Leelavati रस Ras (mood): Raags can evoke different emotions in the listener as well as the singer. Ritu (season): Some raags are associated ऋतु १२ with a particular season. During this season the raags can be sung at any time of the day. some raags may produce multiple emotions. noon 3 बसंत spring श्रृंगार romantic शरद autumn अद्भुत delightful ग्रीष्म summer हेमंत mild winter रौद्र angry भयानक scary auf monsoon शिशिर extreme winter हास्य comic बीभत्स grotesque वीर heroic करुणा, शान्त compassionate, peaceful Sources: Theory of Indian Music, Ram Avtar "Vir | Theory of Indian Ragas, Ram Avtar 'Vir' | Nad: understanding Raga music, Sandeep Bagchee The Music of India, Shripada Bandopadhyaya | | | Concept and design: Pratyush Gupta Y [email protected] संधिप्रकाश dusk संधिप्रकाश dawn

Raag Rang

shared by pratyush89 on Sep 06
Music of India is said to be one of the oldest unbroken musical traditions in the world. This infographic sums up the tight connection between Indian classical music and the cycle of days, seasons and...


Pratyush Gupta


Unknown. Add a source


Did you work on this visual? Claim credit!

Get a Quote

Embed Code

For hosted site:

Click the code to copy


Click the code to copy
Customize size